One week and counting…..

It’s just one week until my first proper large scale cake-making gig, and I’m all a flutter about what to make.  I’ve got a list of about 10 favourite recipes that I hope people will enjoy.  Cake making begins in earnest on Tuesday, the day after the bank holiday and I anticipate that I will be cooking for at least 4 days.  I had a trial run last week by making 90 carrot cupcakes for an event and this seemed to go OK.

I thought it would be good to have some old favourites such as lemon drizzle cake, and my extra special brownies, but it’s important to get the mix right….too much chocolate, not enough citrus flavours – too many nutty options and not enough smooth textures  – the sweet and the savoury need to balance.

…..and then there are the logistical nightmares of transportation, storage, supply and demand, setting up, what the stall will look like…..let alone will it rain, or gust with great wooshes of wind?….and will people come and taste my produce?  My lists are beginning to multiply, so much to do, and so little time…..wish me luck….better still come and pay us a visit on the day.  I’m optimistic that the good folk of Brentford will like what they see and taste,  and will come back for more.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Soola
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 10:35:42

    Sarah this sounds like a gargantuan task, you are a wonderful whizz in the kitchen, I do remember (and how can I ever forget?) some dreamy, delectable and delicious and home-made fayre you conjured up back in March! I can almost detect the wonderful aroma wafting from your kitchen mmmm. I wish you the best of luck in your creative efforts this week and a hugely successful Brentford experience!

    Reply

  2. Nikisha Lewis
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 11:33:32

    Hey Sarah,

    Sorry for the late reply, better late than never eh…! 🙂
    I just wanted to say a huge, massive thank you for baking the cupcakes they held up a treat!!
    Those that had nut allergies were very happy with the fact there were some nut free versions.
    I am pleased to say my passengers were very impressed with the effort.
    They tasted soft, moist, and the icing was a wicked treat.

    I look forward to my next cake (maybe a christmas pud!!)

    Kind Regards
    Nikisha x

    P.S I hope the festival was successful for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

