Messing about at the Duck Pond…..

Just returned from Duck Pond Market in Ruislip…pretty venue right near the centre of Ruislip village…..lovely people and great food to taste!

Being new to this malarkey I was keen to conform to market etiquette….arrived on time, had the right equipment, float, marketing material, all important produce, cool boxes etc…..was pleased not to look too ‘new’ – several people were suprised it was my first market gig….. decided I could bluff my way out of paper bag if required!  Secretly very nervous inside…but didn’t want to show my nerves so smiled alot….which is good in the world of markets!!!!

Fortunately the good folk of Ruislip are very understanding and seemed to like my cakes and cookies…..best seller today was again the beetroot brownie and apple cake, with the blackberry and apple, and hazlenut and dark chocolate cookies coming a close third.  Was really pleased to meet some great fellow marketeers…such a nice bunch of people…we all swapped our produce at the end, with an i’ll show you mine if you show me yours routine…..managed to bag some brilliant scones from Johnny at The Pudding Stop (he was a contestant on The Great British Bake-Off) and is a seriously good cook!  I hope to be invited back soon as this is so much fun I hardly realised I was working at all!!!!

Have it all to do again tomorrow at The Black Boy Pub in Bushey Heath….another Duck Pond venue….well known to me because I used to live round the corner, and raised my two children less than a mile from here!  I can walk down Memory Lane whilst selling the odd cake or two……hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

