Celestial New Year Greetings

It’s 2011, and the start of a new year always fills me with renewed optimism and faith – not to mention a flurry of good intentions mostly related to health and fitness.  With this in mind, I have been putting the finishing touches to some new healthy eating options which I hope you will like.  Try my souper celestial vegetable stock mix – think bouillon as opposed to bisto – only natural organic fresh veggies are used such as fennel; celeriac; carrot; leeks;  garlic and fresh herbs carefully preserved in salt.  All you have to do is add water and hey presto the perfect accompaniment for stews, casseroles and soups. The other good news? There are so few calories it hardly counts…more good news? It counts as one of your 5 a day.

It doesn’t feel like spring but the early forced rhubarb is already in the shops.  I grow my own rhubarb during the summer, but really can’t wait that long before my next fix so I’m making spring rhubarb relish – the perfect accompaniment for curries, oily fish, chicken and cheese. 

Marvellous  marmalade – I’m crazy about the stuff.  You can smother your crumpets, soda bread, tea cakes; wholemeal bread or just about anything with a good marmalade,  add lashings of butter and a cup of tea and it feels like a sunny day.  Try my lemon and lime, three fruits, sweet orange, old English or Seville marmalade for the perfect ‘feel good’  treat.

Come and see me at Borough Market on Saturday 15th January, Friday 21st January. Friday 28th and Saturday 29th January. I’m also at West Ealing London Farmers’ Market on the 2nd and 4th Saturday of every month.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

