Summer season has started…it’s official

All of a sudden the garden has taken off.  Just like switiching on a light bulb out come the flowers, bees, vegetable sprouts and more.  Everywhere you look it’s bloom boom time. For me the season starts with  Chelsea Flower Show which seems to herald in the roots and shoots, and then it just keeps getting better each week. We have already tasted our early potatoes, and this week I have designated strawberry week.  Wimbledon is only a few weeks away so it must be strawberry season! Mine are ripening nicely, but I will need more to make my scrumptious jams and preserves.  Time for a pick your own visit I think…

With a bit of luck, and some sunshine to boot the jam will be made and ready for my next market at West Ealing on Saturday – I’m also a guest at Chalcot Square Summer Fair at Primrose Hill this Saturday – this is a lovely old stylee traditional English fair, organised by the community for the community.  Looking forward to a long season of sunshine, strawberries and cakes.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers